Tregoze Primary About Us

Local Governing Body


The governance of a multi-academy trust differs from those of maintained schools. The White Horse Federation (TWHF) believes that placing statutory responsibilities firmly at its centre, in the remit of the Board of Trustees, allows the local governing body (LGB) to focus on providing support, overcoming challenges in the delivery of educational excellence, and achieving outstanding outcomes for all pupils.

There are direct channels of communication between the principal and the LGB chair and central services. The clerk to the Board of Trustees will hold contact details for all local governors of schools within TWHF. However, routine communication for day-to-day school business should be via the chair of that LGB, managed by the school or through an LGB clerk.

The principal and the chair of the LGB are responsible for ensuring the quality and timely distribution of all materials needed to keep the local governors well-informed about the school and TWHF. The principal and the chair are also responsible for ensuring the views of the LGB are effectively communicated to the Board of Trustees. Trustees reserve the right to attend any LGB meeting.

The White Horse Federation has a very clear and shared understanding of what constitutes good and effective local governance. Schools within TWHF will be judged to have outstanding local governance when the LGB:

  • Talks about teaching and learning.
  • Knows a great deal about the school and its community.
  • Is ambitious for the school and its community.
  • Asks questions which make colleagues reflect, and that these discussions lead to delivering the very best outcomes for every child and adult within the school community.
  • Maintains strong and effective relationships within TWHF.

If you need to contact the Chair of Governors please email the clerk, Jackie Morgan

Current Local Governors

Mrs Helen Tudor Principal & Designated Safeguarding Lead
Ms Emily Medland Chair of Governors, Co-opted Local Governor
Mrs Penny Scott Vice Chair of Governors, Parent Local Governor
Mrs Lisa Osman Co-opted Local Governor
Mr Shaun Preen Staff Local Governor (Teaching)
Rev Trevor Day Co-opted Local Governor
Ms Celia Rios- Ramirez Staff Local Governor (None Teaching)
Mr Tom Barkham Parent Local Governor
Ms Emma Beale Co Opted Governor
Ms Sarah Bakewell Co-opted Governor

Register of Interests 2021-22 & Attendance 2020-21

Local Governors have been appointed by the board of trustees and will serve a four-year term.

NameRoleNature of InterestDate RegisteredTerms of OfficeAttendance 2020-21
Mrs Helen TudorPrincipalTWHF EmployeeNilNA5 of 5
Mrs Emily MedlandChair (Co-opted Local Governor)NoneNil25/03/19 - 24/03/235 of 5
Mrs Penny ScottVice Chair Parent Local GovernorNoneNil05/02/18 - 04/02/225 of 5
Ms Lisa OsmanCo-opted Local GovernorNoneNil23/07/20 - 22/07/242 of 5
Mr Shaun PreenStaff Local Governor (Teaching)TWHF EmployeeNil03/09/18 - 02/09/224 of 5
Rev Trevor DayCo-opted Local GovernorNoneNil03/10/20 - 02/10/243 of 5
Ms Celia Rios-RamirezStaff Local Governor (None Teaching)TWHF EmployeeNil25/03/19 - 24/03/234 of 5
Mr Tom BarkhamParent Local GovernorNoneNil20/01/20 - 19/01/20243 of 5
Ms Emma Beale Co-opted GovernorNoneNil19/07/2021 - 18/07/20251 of 1
Ms Sarah BakewellCo-opted GovernorTBATBA15/10/2021 - 14/10/2025NA

Previous Governors (resigned in last 12 months)

Ian Davis - Left 10/12/2020

The White Horse Federation Governance Information

Click on the button below to access TWHF Governance information including

  • Annual report
  • Annual audited accounts
  • Memorandum of association
  • Articles of association
  • Names of charity trustees and members
  • Funding agreement

Register for School Updates

by submitting this form you agree to our privacy policy.

The enquiry could not be sent, please make sure all the fields have been filled.

Thank you for getting in touch.

The White Horse Federation